Phil – Stores Team Leader

I’ve worked in Pharm-Stores for eight years now and had no previous experience in this type of business; however, I applied because I’ve always been interested in science and was keen to learn something new, which this job offered.

I first gained experience in the Production Support Unit then  assisted at our main fermentation plant and in our developmental group (PADG), which gave me a good grounding in GMP and our production services, providing valuable background knowledge for working in Pharm-Stores.   I was also fortunate in joining Pharm-Stores as it was growing in terms of stock and assisted in bringing some procedures in line with production.  As the department grew and more and more items came in, I became a supervisor and am now team leader. From the initial five staff when I joined, we now have a team of ten people, with a good mix of male and female staff.

My work is very varied and I have to keep our work in line with GMP whilst meeting the demands of a busy warehouse. You need to be very methodical as good record keeping is vital in checking on huge pallet load of materials and keeping up with changing deadlines.  Checks on materials have to be thorough and we make continual improvements to our processes.  This means constantly developing Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) which are necessary, so my work is a lot more detail driven and demanding that when I first joined the department.

Learning new skills is one of the reasons I enjoy working at PBL.  There is plenty of opportunity if you want to progress and I have trained as a Risk Assessor.  There is a nice balance of desk and practical work in my job – from training staff and working with my colleagues on stock control jobs, to driving the forklift truck, all providing a good variety in my day to day work.

I’m lucky in having a good work-life balance, though none of the above is as challenging as having two young sons, aged two and seven! All my spare time is spent with my family and we enjoy outdoor activities like Geocaching and cycling and of course the ubiquitous X-Box keeps me and the boys occupied indoors.