PBL Board

Barry Clare, Chairman

Barry is a pioneering healthcare business leader with extensive experience in the healthcare industry and an experienced non-executive director and company chair.   He is currently Deputy Chair of Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.  Barry has held a number of senior roles at leading international companies and has a proven track record in developing and implementing strategy in healthcare businesses, retail consumer products and in the financial sector.  Barry created Boots Healthcare International, the international ‘over the counter’ consumer healthcare business of the Boots Company PLC.


Roger Hinton, Managing Director

Dr Roger Hinton has over 30 years’ experience within the pharmaceutical industry both at the operational and management level and has worked in research, product and process development and business development. Dr Hinton has a B. Sc. (Hons) in Microbiology and Ph.D. in microbial enzymology. He was formerly the PHE Head of Development and Production and is now the Managing Director of Porton Biopharma Limited and a member of the PBL board.

Richard Gleave (Non-Executive Director)

Richard Gleave is the Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer of Public Health England and is one of the two “stakeholder” members of the Porton Biopharma Board. He has worked for the Department of Health, NHS South of England and a range of NHS hospitals in a range of senior roles.

Michael Brodie (Non-Executive Director)

Michael is Finance and Commercial Director for Public Health England (PHE) and acts as a “stakeholder” member of the Porton Biopharma Board. Before joining PHE, Michael was Finance Director for the NHS Business Services Authority and has held senior finance positions in local government, the police service and the NHS.

Michael is an independent member of the Audit Committees of both Durham University and the disability charity Scope. He is also the immediate past president of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance in the North East.

Nigel Brooksby

Nigel Brooksby (Non-Executive Director)

Nigel is a Member of the UK Government’s Industrial Advisory Board.  Previously he held senior Global Appointments at Wellcome (now GlaxoSmithKline), Pfizer and Sanofi and is a past President of the Association of the British Pharmaceutical industry (ABPI).  He holds several Academic, Charity and Life Sciences Chairmanships and Senior Board positions, and is the current Chairman of the Pharmaceutical Directors Club (PDC), a Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine, A Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and a Friend of the Royal College of Physicians.

Michael Harrison NED

Michael Harrison (Non-Executive Director)

Michael is an Executive Director in the Shareholder Executive within BIS.  He joined the Shareholder Executive in March 2009 and has worked on a range of commercial projects across Government including the sale of UK students loans.  Michael is also on the board of the company that is selling the Royal Mail pension fund assets (originally £29bn), responsible for managing Government’s relationship Ordnance Survey and sits on the investment committee of the charity for civil servants.

He has a broad international corporate advisory background having spent his previous eight years before joining BIS as an executive director in Australia working for independent corporate finance advisor Greenhill Caliburn. Prior to that, Michael spent 12 years in investment banking with CSFB and BZW in both London and Europe. He started his career as an accountant at PWC.

Martin Hindle

Martin Hindle (Non-Executive Director)

Martin was previously Chairman of PBL and was pivotol to the company’s transformation out of Public Health England into a free standing organisation.  Martin has agreed to stay on as a Non-Executive Director and will continue to be a great advocate for the company.

Martin is also currently Chairman of East Midlands Academic Health Science Network, a Board Advisor to Public Health England (PHE) and a member of the Council of Leicester University.

He has recently completed two terms as Vice Chair of the Medicines and Health Care Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA). He served two terms as Chairman of University Hospitals of Leicester and was previously a Non-Executive Director of the Health Protection Agency, National Biologicals Standards Board and the National Blood Authority. He also served as a member of the International Advisory Board of the University of Bradford Business School.

He has held a series of roles as Chair, CEO and executive board director in international pharmaceuticals and telecommunications. He has served on boards in the UK, USA, Japan, France and the Nordic region.

He holds an honours degree in Pharmacy and a M.Sc. in Industrial Administration. He is a Member of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society.